Flash Fiction Friday

I really enjoyed in participating in Priceless Joy’s Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers last week, so I thought I’d give it a shot again this week!

The photo prompt for the week is:

Thanks to Sonya from the blog, Only 100 Words for this picture.
Thanks to Sonya from the blog, Only 100 Words for this picture.

Royal Blue

That breathtaking blue is just like the shade I wore to my sister’s coronation those many years ago.

“I want my coronation dress to be that exact color!” I had commanded to my maiden. Poor woman. She was ever so patient with me and quite gracious.

All I had been worried about at the time was which of the gentry I’d be dancing with that night. None of them were aware of the secret wedding engagement that had been made a few months prior. All those bumbling buffoons crawled over each other obtain a dance with me, the beautiful youthful princess. Oh how much fun I had flirting and dancing the night away, loving their futile attentions. As the kingdom’s responsibility fell to my elder sister, such nights were my life…

You!” Gretchen’s voice snaps me from my reverie. “Don’t make us regret saving yer life!”

She is right. I’m lucky to be alive since the coup. With a sigh, I return to dumping the slop into the pig’s trough.

I clocked in at 170 words for this week’s prompt. Thanks so much for stopping by and reading my work. To see others’ pieces, click here. Feel free to add your own story to the list. It’s so much fun to let the creative juices flow! 🙂

9 thoughts on “Flash Fiction Friday

  1. This story is great! Poor girl, she went from being a princess to a simple farm hand that daydreams about her days as a princess. Wonderful story! I really enjoyed it. Thank you so much for participating in FFfAW challenge! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment