Finally Caught Up with Arrow!

So I’ve just finished watching Season 3 of Arrow (although, once you read this it will be over a week since I finished. Blog schedules and stuff, you know.) Anyway, this means I’m all caught up with Arrow!

I enjoyed this season. I do think Season 2 was a better, but 3 was not that much worse than season 1. The major storyline that appeared in the second half of the season had some issue that I can’t seem to place my finger on. I don’t know if it’s that it was under-developed or simply far-fetched (which I realize is ridiculous to say of a show of this nature), but the series is still entertaining and engaging (*cough*my coworker told me I’m addicted*cough*). The flashback storyline was pretty interesting this time around. It was much more intriguing than last season’s flashback sequences.

The action this season was on point. As Oliver’s team expands to include more heroes, they all learn to fight and it was fun to watch them learn, fail, but then succeed. The music in Arrow was once again excellent and the special effects like last season were pretty average. The characters, once again, continued to grow, which was wonderful. Thea Queen literally stole the show. She was such a strong character this season, and you couldn’t help but love her. She became an epic fighter, emotionally and physically. And her reaction to Oliver finally telling her the truth was beautiful. Thankfully, Oliver continually became less annoying. He still has those decisions that are poorly made, but he’s become a much more likable character. (But there is one major decision he makes in the season finale that makes me want to scream at him. This guy. Honestly.)

In Season 2, Laurel Lance was incredibly annoying (she was basically a whiny damsel in distress), but she got a lot of her act together in 3, which I was pleased to see. Roy, Digs, and Felicity continue to show what amazing friends they are as they stick with Oliver through thick and thin. In fact, Roy makes an amazing decision towards the end of the season that displays just how awesome and loving he is. Ray Palmer, the alter-ego of the Atom was introduced this season, and he is an absolutely wonderful character. He’s incredibly geeky, thoughtful, and an all-round nice guy. There was romantic relationship drama in this season, but it wasn’t distracting and pointless like season one’s.

With the character improvement and other good aspects of this season, I’m sure you’d expect that I’d say I loved this season and it was my favorite, but unfortunately this is not the case. The drawback is the bland storyline(s). As I was saying earlier, there was just something wrong with them; they were definitely not up to par with the previous two seasons. They weren’t awful; they still were entertaining and engaging enough. They just could’ve used more development and interesting but not ridiculous plot. Despite this, I still enjoyed Season 3. The best parts of Season 3 were the Arrow/Flash crossovers, the Suicide Squad episodes (yes! They had the Suicide Squad), and Thea Queen. So, Season 3 was fun and not a complete waste of time.

Now that I’ve caught up with Arrow, I’m glad I watched it. As I’ve been saying for all three seasons it’s an entertaining show. It’s not amazing and not the type of show I would re-watch. Overall, it has a good, engaging, and intricate storyline. As the show progresses, the characters grow and develop, which is quite awesome. The soundtrack is well-done and the CG and special effects are good. It’s definitely a show with good entertainment value and fun to watch, especially if you like self-made superheroes.

Oh! And remember those opening sequence flashback scenes that I complained about in Season 1? They actually grew on me! They became quite useful in reminding me of past plot points from all three seasons that would prove important in the specific episode they were opening to. They were great to foreshadow with, so I kinda take back my complaints (only kinda cuz they were annoying in Season 1).

CHUCK -- "Chuck vs. Operation Awesome" Episode 304 -- Pictured: Brandon Routh as Daniel Shaw -- NBC Photo: Chris Haston
I have no complaints about Ray Palmer whatsoever. None!
Malcolm Merlyn has a pretty major role in this season, and he also has some pretty major skill to keep cheating death as he does...
Malcolm Merlyn has a pretty major role in this season, and he also has some pretty major skill to keep cheating death as he does…
Deadshot: Most likeable member of Suicide Squad. Yes, he's a killer, and yes, he's a villain, but he has his humane moments.
Deadshot: Most likeable member of Suicide Squad. Yes, he’s a killer, and yes, he’s a villain, but he has his humane moments.
Ra's Al Ghul: The main player in that kinda lame major storyline of the season.
Ra’s Al Ghul: The main player in that kinda lame major storyline of the season.
Because Thea Queen is just awesome. She really kicks some butt in this season!
Because Thea Queen is just awesome. She really kicks some butt in this season!
And I shall leave you with the one, the only, Team Arrow!
And I shall leave you with the one, the only, Team Arrow!
9 thoughts on “Finally Caught Up with Arrow!

  1. I didn’t read your whole post because I don’t want spoilers. I’m looking forward to watching this, but I’m taking a break from TV shows right now. I’m glad to hear Thea had a big part in it. She is the character I’m most looking forward to seeing again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I swore that the photo of Ras al’Ghul was from Game of Thrones.
    Also, CROSSOVER time.
    Also, have no problem with any of the male characters. Particularly their faces.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

