Khabi Kushi Khabie Gham

The movie was 90% crying, I swear. Okay. Maybe I’m exaggerating, but not by much. It was like 85% crying, but it was good crying. It was real crying because this movie was about 85% feels, literally. That was not an exaggeration there.

Khabi Kushi Khabie Gham is a 2001 Bollywood drama, so it’s a little old, but I did enjoy it so I figured it was worth talking about now. K3G is about family, simply put. Rahul is adopted as a toddler by the wealthy Raichand family, and they take him in as their own, with immense love. Later they have a second son, Rohan, and the family is in bliss. As Rahul comes of age to take over his father’s company, he makes a mistake: he falls in love. What is unacceptable to his father is the girl who he falls in love with, one of the working class. In choosing the girl over duty to his family, Rahul leaves the Raichand household, only to be found ten years later by his younger brother, who does his best to reunite his family. Rohan knows the stubbornness keeping his family apart can be mended by the love they all share for each other.

This movie is a little long, but I didn’t feel like I wasted my time in watching it (which is basically how I rate movies nowadays. If I don’t regret the time spent, then it’s okay!) K3G is beautiful. Brokenness is a real thing, and this movie captures it greatly. It also has a few great musical numbers, colorful and fun, just as Bollywood is known for. With big names like Shah Rukh Khan, Amitabh Bachan, Kareena Kapoor, this movie does not disappoint.

Plus it’s on Netflix, so y’all really have no excuse not to check it out. I don’t need any “I don’t have Netflix” excuses. Someone you knows does.

(By the way, I totally rate this movie 3/5 tears. XD)

 

 

4 thoughts on “Khabi Kushi Khabie Gham

Leave a Reply

