Death Note: Volumes I & II

Death Note is a manga that multiple people have highly recommended to me and after reading the first two volumes, I can definitely see why.

Deathnote: Volumes I & II

Deathnote

My Rating: 4/5 sparkles

A bored Shinigami, Ryuk, a god of death, decides to drop his deathnote into the human world. If someone can envision someone’s face and writes that person’s name into the deathnote, the unfortunate person will die. Seventeen-year-old Light Yagami, genius straight A student, finds the notebook dropped by Ryuk and realizes he can eliminate crime and create a beautiful world with the notebook, so he starts by dropping known criminals, but soon a squad of detectives led by the infamous super sleuth known simply as “L” begin to follow the trail of this murderer known to them as “Kira.” In order to prevent detection, Light begins to kill more than just criminals…

Deathnote has a very intriguing premise and the storyline is extremely engaging. Tsugumi Ohba’s clever idea brings way to philosophical questions and answers. Soon after Light begins killing criminals, the manga turns into the story of him trying to stay out of reach of L but find out who he is to ultimately destroy him, and L trying to catch the murderer known as Kira. Both characters are extremely intelligent so it’s interesting to watch their clever schemes play out. The characterization in this manga, which is especially seen through the thoughts of the main characters, is very well done. Even Ryuk is done well. He becomes part of Light’s life after Light touches the Deathnote, and he is quite a character. He finds how everything is playing out to be quite amusing and his little chatter and insights into his world of Shinigamis are quite interesting.

Takeshi Obata’s art is excellent. It’s a pleasure to read just to see his drawings. As it is a manga, Deathnote is a quick read, but very worth the small amount of time you will need to spend reading it. Deathnote’s plot is very well-developed.The story, as it is about death, is a bit dark, but it also explores morals and ethics. Deathnote truly shows how a good person can become evil when he is given the power he should not have. Humans should not have such a rule over death as Light does in this manga. I look forward to reading the rest of the series to see where Light and L will go, what they will do next, and how the story will play out.







I track my reading on Goodreads, and often write brief reviews. To see my ratings, click on the link at the bottom of the page, or to see my thoughts on some of my latest readings, click on the links below.

4 thoughts on “Death Note: Volumes I & II

  1. Hi! I understand this is kind of off-topic but I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established blog such as yours require a massive amount work?
    I’m completely new to writing a blog but I do write in my diary every day.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my
    personal experience and views online. Please
    let me know if you have any kind of suggestions or tips for
    new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

    Like

    • Hey! Sorry, this comment was placed in the spam folder. I think just sharing what you want is important. Send it out to a few friends. A good way to get people to check out your blog is to actually check out blogs you’re interested in. WordPress is a community. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

Leave a Reply

