Everyone in Arrow is hot!

Okay, except maybe some of the villains, but seriously the actors on the show are very attractive. The women are gorgeous and the men are very handsome. And for both genders, it’s not just the young flesh; the actors chosen to play the older characters like the parents have aged very well. The amount of attractive on the show is borderline ridiculous, however. There is no way a city can be composed of only excessively attractive people. I think Starling City should have been named Studsville.

Anyway, after high recommendations from multiple close friends, I have finally started watching Arrow. There were a few days of binge watching in the past couple weeks that allowed me to finish all 23 episodes of the first season. I enjoyed it. The story is quite entertaining and the plot is very intricate and well developed—well, actually there are two plots. Arrow is based on DC comics’ Green Arrow. I’ve never read any of them, but the show has intrigued me in that field, so hopefully at some point in the future, I shall. The story follows billionaire playboy Oliver McQueen once he returns to his home in Starling City after spending five strange years stranded on an island. His father had asked him to survive in order to “right his wrongs” as the Queen fortune is not built on fair play. Oliver takes up a vigilante identity to try and clean up the corruptness of the city. That’s the main plot, but the show also has a second major plot which follows the story of Oliver’s life on the island in the form of flashbacks. They’re actually my favorite part of the show. It’s very interesting to watch.

The acting of this show is pretty average. I can’t really complain about it much, but I also can’t say all the actors are amazing. Some of them are quite replaceable. That feeling also might be derived from the fact that I’m not a fan of many of the main characters. Some of them are so one-dimensional and really lame. I can’t believe I’m about to say this, but I do not like Oliver Queen. This surprises me as I rarely dislike the main character in a superhero film/show. I like when they have flaws as they’re only human, but Oliver is a different story. I find him to be a jerk who doesn’t place his priorities straight and is simply lucky enough to be surrounded by very loving and forgiving people. I much prefer Stranded-On-An-Island-Oliver over Back-In-Starling-City-Oliver. (Not because he was stranded but his convictions seemed stronger and you could see him learning/growing.) I have been assured by my friends that this show is full of character development, so I’m holding out hope that the people who bug me will change into more likable characters. In fact, Oliver isn’t as bad as he was at the beginning of the show, so perhaps there is still hope for him yet. There are characters I do like, though. Tommy, Felicity, and Digs are all great people.

I’m not super familiar with CW shows, but I do think they have a tendency to be more drama filled than most shows I watch (which are few to begin with so…) I’m all for romance. I watch and enjoy my fair share of romantic comedies, dramas, etc, but I found the romantic tension and drama in this first season to be a bit too much and unnecessary. It could very  well be that I just didn’t like 66% of the characters in the major love triangle, but still, I would’ve preferred more action or maybe some light on other relationships like Oliver’s familial ones as opposed to this romantic drama.

Now this is me just being lame; it has absolutely no effect on the show: but I really don’t like that the opening sequence contains flashbacks, that whole “Previously on Arrow…” thing. I never did like TV show flashbacks opening sequences like that. I suppose though, when you’re not binge-watching an entire season within two and a half weeks like me, it’s nice to have the reminders as to what was going on.

Despite all my complaints, overall, Arrow is an enjoyable and entertaining show. It often ends in cliffhangers forcing you to immediately watch the next episode and has a way of keeping you hooked. It’s that amazing storyline that keeps me coming back. Arrow is extremely engaging. There are many action sequences throughout the show and they are very well done. The special effects are good and the stuntmen really get their workout in this show. With the hope of better character development, I plan on watching the rest of Arrow.

Did I mention Oliver has an awkward amount of shirtless onscreen time? I mean, Stephen Amell has a nice body and all , but it gets a bit excessive...
Did I mention Oliver has an uncomfortable amount of shirtless onscreen time? I mean, Stephen Amell has a nice body and all , but it gets a bit excessive…And I guess I’m only promoting it by posting this particular picture. Oh well, if you end up watching the show, this is nothing, so I’m not doing any harm anyway, and if you don’t, well, here’s your one-time-look.
Tommy Merlyn is my favorite character. He's just an all-around nice guy.
Tommy Merlyn is my favorite character. He’s just an all-around nice guy. Plus, he’s not too shabby looking. ;P
Felicity Smoak is just the best. XD She's fun. She's quirky. She's awkward...It's quite fab.
Felicity Smoak is just the best. XD She’s fun. She’s quirky. She’s awkward…It’s quite fab.
6 thoughts on “Everyone in Arrow is hot!

  1. I like your term; “one-dimensional“ actors. That says it all. I’ll be looking for Arrow to come to German television. It usually does… even if it takes a year or so.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

