Poetic Wednesday: The Candles

The Candles

Billions of candles
By the shore
Flickering brightly
Nothing more.

Sometimes I wonder
How life would be
Were one to blow out
That one that is me?

What would the other
Candles say
To see that this one
Had gone away?

I’m afraid that
I’ll just never know
Not really wanting it
To happen so.

I might just sit
And dim the light
Hoping that alone
Will provide insight.

I would never remove
The light forever as
There is much to do;
Life is an endeavor.

What I really need
And what I desire
Is that the flame
Rages like a fire.

I want it to be open
To breathe in oxygen
So it burns freely
Spirited once again.

2 thoughts on “Poetic Wednesday: The Candles

Leave a Reply

