The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

In one of my earlier posts I wrote about why I love to read. So, I thought it’d be befitting for me to share with you one of the books I recently read that I absolutely loved!

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

guernsey

Rating: 5/5 Sparkles

Soon after the end of the Second World War, London dweller and writer Juliet Ashton finds herself intrigued by the beginning of a chance correspondence with a fellow book lover located on the island of Guernsey. Learning of his membership in a book club used initially as a ruse to escape punishment from the Nazis during the German occupation of the island, Juliet decides she wants to write about the book club and its members. Thus, she starts a series of correspondence with the various members of the club and becomes enthralled enough by their stories to visit them for herself.

Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows did a fantastic job in weaving The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society together. It was an absolute pleasure to read it. Each character is given a personality that shines through due to the novel’s format, which is a series of letters from Juliet to her London friends and her newfound friends from Guernsey. The letters are a delight to read. They capture the wit and voice of each character and their proposed characteristics shown through their letters were justified by the others’ accounts of them in their own letters. They were written so the reader enjoyed reading about the lives of the characters, both the unusual events and the ordinary. That’s another thing: the characters were quite real.

The story formed through these letters was fantastic. It wasn’t some shallow or frilly story. The historically plausible accounts didn’t come from nowhere. It was very obvious that the novel was well-researched, and it also had many wonderful elements to make it such a good read. It had humor; the clever chatter of the characters and the speeches of the eccentric ones added in the fun. It had the ability to be serious, which is very appropriate when tales and horrors of the Holocaust must be recounted. It had a little romance and drama, but it wasn’t at all the silly sappy kind. It was a mature, respectable, and well-deserving-of-my-time kind. And most of all, it had charm. I don’t think I can count how many times I started smiling while reading this novel or even chuckling out loud.

I like to think that I’m reserved about doling out five star ratings for novels, so my initial rating was to be a 4.5/5 stars. But it really is a masterpiece, so it deserves that extra half a star. This is a novel I highly recommend. Whether you were already thinking of reading it or you only now were introduced to it, your current thought should be, “I must read this book immediately!”







I track my reading on Goodreads, and often write short reviews. To see my ratings, click on the link at the bottom of the page, or to see my thoughts on some of my latest readings, click on the links below.

6 thoughts on “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Leave a Reply

